Department Scholarships

Each year the Department awards a about $50,000 in scholarships to outstanding students. The scholarships honor bequests to the Department in the names of outstanding alumni, emeritus faculty, and other friends of the program. Scholarships include:

  • Helen Barnum Forestry Scholarship
  • James T. Brown Forestry Scholarship
  • Robert Cary Forestry Scholarship
  • Dillard-Bailey Scholarship for Undergraduate Students
  • Dillard-Bailey Scholarship for Graduate Students
  • HSU Forestry Alumni Association Scholarship
  • Forestry Pathfinders Commemorative Scholarship
  • Marlis Honeywell Forestry Scholarship
  • Ron Hoover Memorial Scholarship
  • Jerry Partain Forestry Scholarship
  • Edwin and Joan Pierson Forestry Scholarship
  • Mark B Rhea Soil Science Fellowship
  • Charles G. and Helen W. Schober Scholarship
  • Louis H Wayers Memorial Scholarship

The deadline for applications is during March; check in the Department office for additional details.

Outside Scholarships

California Farm Bureau Scholarship Foundation
The California Farm Bureau Scholarship Foundation provides aid to students with a desire to pursue a career in the agricultural industry. The scholarships are awarded annually based upon academic achievement, career goals, extracurricular activities, determination, leadership skills, and a commitment to study agriculture.

Humboldt County Farm Bureau Scholarships
The Humboldt County Farm Bureau Scholarships provides scholarships to students who graduated from from Humboldt County High Schools or the surrounding area. The variety of scholarships are aimed at students who intend to pursue agriculture, forestry and natural resource sciences.

Fire Science Online
Fire Science Online includes information on fire science scholarships, where to find grants and loans and the benefits of pursuing degrees in forestry.